I was unfriended today and I am so damn proud!!!

 
I was just unfriended for the FIRST time!! at least that i know of…
Anyway, here is why: a girl I vaguely remember from high school posted yesterday how it upsets her when people say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”. I have a slightly different take on the issue and posted the following OPINION. I can only assume that she unfriended me and REMOVED the post from her wall because HER particular faith does not allow for diverse opinions. Which I find very sad. But I still do sincerely hope that her Christmas/holiday is what she hopes it be. I actually DO BELIEVE in good will and kindness and loving and accepting people for who they are and not what I think they should be.
So to all of you who still want to be my Facebook friends I wish you whatever is the proper phrase of good will and happiness for your particular faith!!

I love history, especially religious history. I have a very curious mind and I have an unending fascination with the origins of religious beliefs and practices. I have done personal research and have taken a few religion classes in college. And what I have found over the years is that there are many, many, many more similarities than differences between the wide variety of belief systems in God that have been around since humans began to walk upright. The winter holidays have never belonged to just one belief or one God. Since at least the time of the ancient Egyptians humans have celebrated this time of the year to honor the God or Gods of their culture. Decorating your home with greenery that didn’t die in the winter was symbolic of life continuing thru the darkest days of winter. Lighting candles, ringing bells, and singing carols were thought to chase away evil spirits. Candles and Yule logs were also thought to encourage the Sun God to continue to shine and/or be reborn each solar year. The practice of giving gifts is believed to have started with the Romans.
Paraphrasing from the author Dorothy Morrison; it doesn’t matter if you call the winter holidays Christmas, Hanukkah, or Yule, the holidays give us ALL “a time of reflection, resolution, and renewal. A time of gift-giving, good will, and kindness . . . they provide us with rituals to celebrate the balance of light and dark-rituals for welcoming the healing powers of warmth back into our world- and that gives us a common ground that draws us together as a people.”
My point here is not to disrespect you or your beliefs. My point is to suggest that when someone says to you “ Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”, maybe they are just trying to acknowledge that despite all of our differences, each one of us is a sacred part of the human family; and no matter the path you are following in your life and no matter what you call this time of year, they hope that this is a joyous and blessed time for you.
So, Merry Christmas K_____, I hope that you and your daughter have a beautiful one and it is everything that you want it to be.

 
About goddessofglitter

I like to laugh
This entry was posted in commentary, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I was unfriended today and I am so damn proud!!!

  1. I never quite understood why it is so upsetting to people to realize that many Christmas traditions were borrowed from other religions. Just because the traditions are borrowed doesn’t mean my beliefs have changed. I don’t say “happy holidays” unless I am working retail. I wish my church friends a Merry Christmas, my Jewish friends a Happy Hanukkah (because I can say it but not spell it), my sister a Good Yule.

    • That’s my feeling as well. The origins of such things SHOULDN’T change what they mean to you. For me, I think it’s really cool to know that people thousands of years ago did things that we still do today. It may not be in the same way or for the exact same reasons, but it’s amazing to me to see things that can change and evolve and last and continue to bring people together to celebrate.

  2. gojulesgo says:

    Wow, I can’t believe that was worthy of an unfriend! I think if someone says “Merry Christmas” and you don’t celebrate Christmas, it should be taken as a warm, ‘well wishes,’ because that’s all they intend by it. On the flip side, the same goes for Happy Holidays – someone is just trying to be nice. I think she needs a glass of wine and a foot massage or something, LOL 😉

    • this woman has a history of unfriending people who say things she doesn’t like. I only kept her until this point because it was entertainment for me. I knew this day was coming. I knew there was going to come a time that she posted something that was going to have me jumping on my soapbox. And her unfriending me showed that she is like alot of people I know that can talk the talk, but can’t walk the walk. Rather than engage in a meaningful discussion and exchange of differing viewpoints, she took her toys and went home. You can’t show someone the light if they won’t even open their eyes.

    • She needs something massaged! lol

Leave a Reply

