The Virginia Hedge Trimming Massacre

When I was a teenager there was this family joke on my Mother’s side about how my grandmother was obsessed with owning a chainsaw. She lived in a condo in suburban Atlanta and had no need, let alone the arm strength, to wield a chainsaw. But she wanted one. I can’t remember if she actually ever got one, I don’t think she did. But it wouldn’t surprise me if she did get one just to say she had one. Either way, I never quite understood her obsession. Until today . . .

Over the last two years the husband and I have slowly been working on our front yard. Adding plants, removing others, scraping down the lawn to get the awesome grass we have now. That last part is all due to Bdawg, he gets all of the credit for our amazing lawn. We’ve mulched and fertilized and dug our yard into a very nice place to hang out and play with our kid.

But we have these Azalea bushes in front of our house that I have been dreaming of “taking down to parade rest” as my husband would put it. They haven’t been pruned or cultivated in I don’t know how long. They are were around 4 feet in height and really needed a haircut. I finally got around to living the dream today. I got out the electric hedge trimmer my husband bought earlier this year and got to work on my Edward Scissorhand impression:

20120609-235935.jpg I didn’t think to get before pictures, but in this shot there was no space here and you couldn’t see the ground or the bush in the back.

20120610-000324.jpg Before I got ahold of this greenery, it was five inches taller and you couldn’t see the ground underneath or the wall behind it.

20120610-000712.jpg This bush and the one behind it originally reached to the left side of this shot obscuring the sight of our hose in the back.

I realize a hedge trimmer is no chainsaw, but once I got started I couldn’t stop myself! It was like I was a teenager again trying to trim my own bangs. A snip here, a snip there and the next thing you know I have a buzz cut on my forehead! But this waaaay better. It was with power tools and it wasn’t my head!

Bdawg came over to check out my work “What have you done?” Not mad or anything, just concerned, um, curiosity? I explained/reminded him that it would look bad for awhile but eventually the newly exposed areas would start to grow and they would like nice again. Patience is required.

I finally get my grandmamma and her chainsaw obsession. It was exhilarating and empowering, and just a raw, physical, and amazing rush! I can’t wait to get back out there tomorrow and tear into those bushes!

About goddessofglitter

I like to laugh
This entry was posted in humor, life's whispers, sprinkles of glitter, suburban houselife, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Virginia Hedge Trimming Massacre

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Summer Day | goddessofglitter

Leave a Reply

