The “V” Word

The big, bad, fire-breathing V-word!
image courtesy of scenicreflections.com

When I was a little girl my mother had a best friend named Michael.  When I left home and joined the Navy, she moved to California and shared a home with him and his partner.  When I was stationed in San Diego I would drive up for visits from time to time.  On one visit Michael was reminiscing about when I was a child.  He told me his favorite story about me was one when I was between the ages of 4 and 6 years old.  I came home from school one day and told my parents that a little boy had asked me to pull down my pants.  My response?  I told that little boy that if he wanted to see a vagina then he needed to go look at a Playboy or Penthouse magazine!

In 1987  HBO had a documentary called, “How to Raise a Street-Smart Child.”  One topic in this documentary discussed “good touch” and “bad touch”.  It stressed the importance of children being comfortable with the names of the parts of their bodies. . .the anatomically correct names for their body parts.  The documentary explained that children who were comfortable discussing their “private parts” with the correct terms such as vagina and penis, were more apt to not only recognize when they were being touched in ways they shouldn’t be, they were also more apt to report the “bad touching”.

Here we are 25 years later, with media reports of child abuse and exploitation growing exponentially, and the Michigan state House of Representatives can’t handle the word vagina.  The Detroit News quoted one representative; “What she said was offensive,” said Rep. Mike Callton, R-Nashville. “It was so  offensive, I don’t even want to say it in front of women. I would not say that  in mixed company.”  Really? Then in front of who would you use the word vagina?  In a locker room maybe?  Nah, I have enough guy friends to know that is not the prefered word for the female anatomy in a “guy talk” conversation.

Usually, the guys I know, come up with terminologies that make the vagina sound like a place they enjoy interacting with as much as possible.  All sorts of food names like peach or taco, foods I would assume they like to eat.  I have even heard it called a feline-type name, which makes sense to me, because kitty-cats are loving and affectionate animals.  Of course there are some not-so-nice names for the vagina, but I think that has to do more with the woman’s personality, or her lack of “house cleaning”, than with her actually body part.

The only men I know that find the vagina “yucky” are my gay friends, and that’s just because it’s not a place they are interested in visiting anytime soon.  Maybe these Michigan republicans are gay and just don’t know it?  I know they’re supposed to be all “socially conservative” and all, but I am sure the Log Cabin Republicans would welcome them with open arms, and they wouldn’t have to talk about the vajayjay at all!

 

About goddessofglitter

I like to laugh
This entry was posted in commentary, humor, in the news. . ., pet peeves and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “V” Word

  1. Jeff says:

    To be socially well rounded, it helps to be familiar with ALL terminology and, if one chooses to use the baser samples of the lexicon, to at least know when to use them and when not. Apparently some political sectors of Michigan FAIL has been omni-directional. One suspects the legislators in question may have been in their early twenties before they discovered, much to their presumed horror, that people weren’t all like Ken and Barbie after all……..

    I can just hear it now…..Mr. Speaker calls for a recess so everybody can, um, er, ah…go WEE WEE…..

Leave a Reply

