The Power of the PEEP. . .Or How to Turn Your Child into a Hummingbird on Crack

20121229-122725.jpg

I decided to let my son have some of his Christmas candy last night. Normally I am the stricter one about sugar, but I went back to work yesterday after 5 days off and I hadn’t seen him all day. My husband had spent the whole day with our Buzzsaw and just tried to tune it all out. . . Just added to my amusement. We decided to just order pizza and while we were waiting I snacked on a gingerbread PEEP and of course Buzzsaw wanted one, ahh, what the hell go for it.

It started slowly, shortly before the pizza arrived. His speech started to speed up, his smile got just a little bigger, and he started to babble about anything that came into his vision, even more so than normal. Then the laughter started, and the running through the house, then the pulling me by the arms and wanting to spin, in the kitchen. Then he started pulling me by my sweatshirt into another room so we could spin. And then into the entry way to spin. Aaaand back to the kitchen again. My husband and MIL were doing their best to go about their business and get food on their plates and ignore us. That’s when it really hit.

Buzzsaw had run up the stairs with a toy container and threw it down the stairs. Before I could say a word about that being a no-no, he began his butt slide down the stairs, at full speed! Did I mention that this is when he started the “Aaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!” anytime his feet were moving?
Down the stairs, “Aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!”

Through the kitchen, “Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!”

Through his playroom, “Aaaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!”

Around our legs, on a chair, and from the kitchen to his playroom and back again, “Aaaaaaaahhhhh!!!”

We finally got food on our plates, including his, and headed for the living room to hopefully put on “The Dark Knight Rises”. Buzzsaw noted that my MIL, his grandmother, Gree wasn’t going to eat downstairs with us, and I replied, “Yeah, you’re a bit much right now.”

I believe he was trying to say that his Gree was a “bit much”, but what came out didn’t make any sense. So I said to Buzzsaw, “Yeah, honey, that didn’t make any sense.”
Buzzsaw’s reply? “It makes sense to me.”

How do you not laugh at something like that? Yes, my son is aware of how funny he is because I am horrible at hiding my amusement. Case in point and a slight deviation from the current story; We were at the grocery store a few months ago and he was pointing to a clock and trying to say the word “clock”, except that he kept forgetting the “L” in the word. Trying very had to keep a neutral face I explained to him that word was not a nice word. To which he replied, “Cock is good.” I had to turn around. I couldn’t even look at him as I started the silent laugh that is nothing more than tears in my eyes and my body shivering from my attempts to contain my laughter.

I assume that anyone reading this probably thinks I am nuts and is armchair quarterbacking my decision to let him have a PEEP an hour before bed. You probably think I deserve what I got. That’s cool, and you’re right. But it actually ends quite well, almost a happily ever after kind of night. At some point during his hummingbird on crack fest he came across a “Dora the Explorer” movie he got for Christmas and got really excited. So when it was time to start trying to herd him upstairs for bedtime, I focused on putting the movie in his movie player instead of saying it was bedtime. He willingly went upstairs. Had to be the PEEP. He didn’t fight or cry when we brushed his teeth. Must be the PEEP. And he yelled, “YEAH!! It’s nite-nite time for me!!!!” MOST DEFINITELY the PEEP. And he was out in no more than 10 minutes.

The Power of the PEEP.

About goddessofglitter

I like to laugh
This entry was posted in adventures in parenting, Buzz Notes, humor, suburban houselife, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Power of the PEEP. . .Or How to Turn Your Child into a Hummingbird on Crack

  1. Jeff says:

    Hummingbird on crack. Nice visual. Being diabetic and on the other end of the age scale from my grandson, I’m more like a hummingbird on Valium when I eat……..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

  2. khoirulashraff96 says:

    Reblogged this on inspirasilawakfm.

  3. shovonc says:

    There’s nothing wrong with enjoying your kids. Why have them otherwise?

Leave a Reply

